The Stand-Off

Sometimes I even surprise myself.

I don’t know that I actually have a parenting “style”. Although I guess I must, everyone has a certain way that they do things, I’ve just never really thought about it. My general policy is “no drama, just an FYI- if A, then B….whatever.” (It should be said that my super calm approach is usually followed up with me thinking “oh crap I hope this works please please please please please please please).

So,the kids and I are up earlier than usual today (a result of the SEVEN teeth that one of us has coming in). I thought it would be nice to catch Good Morning America, I never get to see it. From the minute she got up, Amelia had been saying that she wanted to watch cartoons. I just kept saying “No, we’re watching this”. I got up to get Amelia’s breakfast and when I came back to the living room, the TV had mysteriously been changed to “Curious George” and the remote was gone (ooooh, she’s slick!). As you may guess, a battle of the wills followed.

I told her to change it back, she said No. She asked for her cereal, I said No. I told her that as long as the cartoons were on, she wouldn’t get the post-breakfast donut that she had asked for. I’m big on following through with threats/promises, but I wasn’t in the mood for a fight. I left it like this: as long as cartoons were on, Amelia would get no donut and I would not bring her cereal to her (although she was welcome to get it herself), and if she kept pulling attitude with me, she’d have to do a time-out (I was praying that this wouldn’t happen because I knew that it would be a battle and I just wasn’t in the mood). I didn’t push too much, I just let her think about it. A few minutes later, Amelia produced the remote and switched the TV back to ABC. *Let the angels sing!* She’s also eaten all of her cereal and brought her dishes to the counter. I love it when a plan comes together!

But seriously…..how the hell did I do that?

Leave a Reply

