Catch-22

I recently posted about my new obsession with audiobooks and my plan to channel this obsession into plowing my way through the 100 Best Novels.  I feel like it could only help for me to get a few more classics under my belt.  I just finished Night by Elie Wiesel, which I THOUGHT was on the list…but wasn’t.  Apparently I’d confused the 100 Best Novels with the Oprah Book Club.  Yeah, it’s not quite the same.  It was an incredible book and it IS a classic.  In fact, I’d go as far as to say that if I kept looking at other 100 Best Novel lists (there are a million), I’d eventually find it.

When I originally went through the list, I made a point NOT to count books that I read for school but had no recollection of.  I don’t want credit unless I remember SOMETHING about the plot.  Catch-22 is one of these books.  Oddly, I remember nothing about the book.  Nothing.  Even with Fahrenheit 451, I remember that books burn at…well…. 451 degrees fahrenheit and that it involves book-burning and censorship.  So, when I saw that my local library had Catch-22, I grabbed it.  (I’d requested that Life of Pi be ordered from another library and put on hold for me, but it hasn’t come in yet)

Before I go on, first let me mention that the audio version of  Catch-22 contains SIXTEEN CDs.  I’ve been dabbling in the 4-6 CD range so far.  Not only did I not remember the plot, apparently I forgot the thickness of the book.  According to Amazon.com, it had 464 pages.  (Wow, I wonder how many CDs it takes to hear an Ayn Rand book…)  I’m not quite sure how I’m going to accomplish this in 2 weeks.  Really, the only time I get to listen is in the car on my way to/from work.  I think I may see how far I get and then load the rest onto my Ipod.  We’ll see.

So, I popped CD #1 into the player on my way to work and expected that the first chapter would trigger some sort of recognition.  Nothing.  I have absolutely no recollection, no familiarity.  Is it possible that I never read it?  I’m 98% sure that it was assigned (I have a mental image of Mr Brusa’s sophomore year English class when I think of the title), I don’t THINK I would have just blown off an entire book.  Perhaps I read it in such a machanical, means-to-an-end, way that I just didn’t retain anything.  Hmmmm, so strange.  Maybe I’ll get into the car tonight and suddenly remember something about it.

I’ll keep you posted.  I’ll be on this book for a few weeks, at least.

One thought on “Catch-22

  1. Pingback: Catch-22

Leave a Reply

