Sunscreen

I don’t care what you say, I still think the world revolves around me.  In 1999, I graduated from college and Baz Luhrmann was telling everybody to wear sunscreen (you KNOW what I’m talking about).  You can pretend that you think the song is corny, but it’s clever and bold and straight to the point. 

I was reminded of this song the other day by, of all people, Ashton Kutcher (@aplusk if you’re nasty).  The timing was perfect.  Over the weekend I watched the Carnegie Mellon University commencement online (how far we’ve come in 10 years) and I was feeling incredibly nostalgic.  I wanted to shout to the graduates that they were full of promise and to treasure every second of this time. 

To add to my nostalgia, on Monday I spent a few minutes with a friend from college.  She was in town for a conference and emailed me to ask if I’d be available to meet for a few minutes while I was at work.  It was great catching up and comparing notes on people we were each still in touch with.  There were several people who we summed up with “Oh, still the same old Kurt (or Lori or Carlos)”.  I sometimes worry that after 10 years of no contact, maybe I’ve completely lost connection with a person.  Maybe we’re both too far removed to feel like we know each other.  It’s nice to know that some things don’t change.

So, I was missing college, missing old friends, missing being “free” and having my entire adulthood ahead of me.  I was missing that spark that made me feel like anything was possible and that, some time soon, I was going to change the world.

Then I happened to click of one of the zillion links that @aplusk posted on Twitter and I suddenly felt renewed.  I’m thinking about starting every day by watching this while I drink my morning coffee.

 

Come on.  You know this is the quintessential graduation song.  Clearly it was written for me.

Leave a Reply

