Summer Vacation

I figure that since I’ve been posting about my Best 100 Novels audiobook journey here, I should explain why I haven’t updated lately. 

I was on a roll.  I got through some Hemingway.  I finally educated myself on ‘Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy’….and, yes, I see why people are so obsessed.  I had gotten through a chunk of ‘Moby Dick’ and was really enjoying it.

And then we went on vacation.

I was so naive.  I was thinking that, with at least 14 hours of driving (Atl>Charleston>Asheville>Atl), I’d get through the rest of ‘Moby Dick’ and perhaps move on to ‘The Kite Runner’.  I even got the audio version of ‘Between a Rock and a Hard Place’ out of the library just in case Jason wasn’t in the mood to listen to a Classic. 

It actually turns out that Jason wasn’t in the mood to listen to ANY book.  And, once I really thought about it, neither was I.  I’ve given months to my quest to get through the 100 Best Novels in audio form.  It’s been fun and interesting and educational, but I needed a break.  Once I got in the car and headed for the coast, all I wanted to do was listen to music.  It had been months since I’d listened to music in the car….and I LOVE listening to music in the car.  I felt like I was rediscovering the music that had been absent for so long.  It was fun.

I thought that I’d pick up with the audiobooks when I got back home.  But somehow my fingers just never make it to hit the ‘CD Changer’ button on my stereo.  It’s summer.  It’s bright and sunny and hot….and all I really want to listen to in the car is dancehall reggae or jam bands or cheesy pop. 

So, I’m declaring it summer vacation.  At some point, the weather cools or maybe on a rainy day, I’ll get back to the books.  I’ll eventually finish my list. 

But right now I’m blasting tunes with the windows down.

Leave a Reply

