Thirsty Girl

I knew it was coming…The harsh words from my 4 year old.  I expected “I HATE YOU!” in the middle of a tantrum, not stone-cold composure.  Luckily it passed as quickly as it came.

This is the conversation I had with Amelia as we were pulling out of a Walmart parking lot….

Amelia: Mommy, I’m thirsty.  Let’s stop and get a drink.

Me:  No, we’ll be home in a few minutes.

Amelia:  But I’m thirsty.

Me:  We’ll be home in a  few minutes.  You can have something then.

Amelia:  It’s too late.  I’m already thirsty.  Let’s just stop.

Me:  When we get home.

Amelia:  (sigh) You’re not a very good mother.

Me:  Excuse me?

Amelia:  I’m sorry.  You are a good mother.

Me:  Why did you say that?  That kind of hurt my feelings.

Amelia:  I’m sorry Mommy.  You ARE a good mother.  I don’t know why I said that.  I’m just…thirsty.

 

By the way, when we got home she walked in and started playing….and never even asked for a beverage.  Go figure…..

One thought on “Thirsty Girl

  1. This sounds way to familiar. I was surprised to the the “I hate you” at such a young age from S., but yup, I’ve heard it too.

Leave a Reply

