Carpe Friendem

I’ve got this bad habit of hanging back and waiting for friendships to happen.  I certainly don’t want to be the pushy girl who forces friendship upon other people, but I really need to make an effort to put myself out there.   I’ve always been shy and a little insecure, so I have this fear that people won’t want to hang out with me.  I know it.  I accept it.

The problem is that I hang back for too long, and then when I finally start to get to know somebody, they leave.  Many cases are just circumstance.  Bad luck, I suppose.  If somebody is going to move away, they’ll move away.  My friendship won’t change that.  Sometimes the person just gets a new job or leaves a Mom Group.  It’s not a major upheaval, but our paths stop crossing.  Either way, when I feel like I’ve missed another opportunity, I still regret it.

So, in an effort to avoid regrets, I’m going to seize friendship opportunities whenever I can.  I’ve met some really cool people lately and I hope that at least a few will become friends.  This way, even if they decide to move to Ohio (boo!), I’ll know that we’ve had a few good Margarita Nights.

2 thoughts on “Carpe Friendem

  1. Perfectly said! I think we all think that exact same thing at some point in time…like me right now wondering – why were we not better “friends” in high school??? 🙂

  2. You know, I wonder the same thing. I’ve actually been having the same conversation with Buffy lately on Facebook.

    I was SO shy in high school. That’s the only explanation I can come up with…..

Leave a Reply

