Crochet

A little over a year ago, I decided that I was going to learn how to crochet.  I’d thought about it for a while, I have big dreams of being crafty, not I just never made the move.  Finally, I came across a book called Stitch ‘N Bitch Crochet: The Happy Hooker (not to be confused with The Happy Hooker: My Own Story, which IS about a happy hooker).  The directions seemed simple and the patterns seemed hip, so I bought the book and gave it a try.  It took a while, and many “How to Crochet” searches on YouTube, but I finally figured out the basics and went to work on the hobby that would provide me if every gift I’d ever give again.  I even made a couple cute little things (mostly scarves).

I’m not really sure why I stopped.  Maybe the novelty wore off.  Maybe I was frustrated that I’d plateaued.  Maybe the Georgia summers are just too hot to be sitting around handling yarn.  For whatever reason, I sort of just dropped off.  Being on overnights, I thought that I’d pick it up again.  I’ve been walking around for the last 2 months with a ball of yarn and a crochet hook in my bag.  But still, I just haven’t gotten around to it.

hatYesterday I was going through some pictures and I found this picture of Amelia visiting Father Christmas (I don’t think they actually call him Santa Claus) at the Atlanta Botanical Garden last year.  Cool hat, right?  I remember being SO proud of that hat.  If I’d been crocheting all summer, I could have been honing my craft and making Amelia an even better hat for this year.  Bah!

So, I’m going to start crocheting again.  I mean it.  I’m reaching into my bag right now.  And now that it’s in writing, I HAVE to do it….right?

3 thoughts on “Crochet

  1. I was scrolling through my WP tag surfer and as I passed Amelia’s picture I was like, “Hey! I know that kid!” lol

    You should start crocheting again! And I’m gonna hold you to it! If you need patterns for things, I can point you in the right direction or send you stuff. 🙂 Anything to enable a fellow “happy hooker!” lol Plus, you need to make something yarn related for Z, too!

    • Ooops, I replied to the wrong post. Anyway, that really is a cool hat. I’m crocheting a market bag right now, I should post some photos on my blog.

Leave a Reply

