Bummed About St. Nick

Last year I took the kids to the Atlanta Botanical Garden to see Father Christmas.  It was the nicest set-up…outside in the garden, Father Christmas in a long green robe (red is for shopping malls!) and a wreath on his head.  And best, you could take as many photos as you wanted- your kids with Santa, your kids alone, Santa alone, other kids-  FOR FREE.  No being rushed through a cattle line at the mall, only to be overcharged for one sub-par picture.  It was perfect.

So, when I noticed that the Botanical Garden has posted their “Holiday Events” schedule, I was excited.  I couldn’t wait to find a time that Jason &B I were both off work so we could ALL go.   I scanned the scedules and it listed a train exhibit, holiday tea, even a ‘reindog parade’….but no Father Christmas.  Not even a mention of Santa Claus or St Nick.  How could this be???

I asked around, but nobody knew anything about it.  I finally emailed the general Garden information account to ask.  Two days later, I received this:

Hello
 
We will not be having Father Christmas this year.
 
Thank you for your interest.

Bummer.

So, now we’re in the market for a new non-cheesy, non-mall, ideally no-cost Santa.  If anybody has any suggestions for around Atlanta, please let me know.  If I find anything, I’ll post it here. 

Until then, Peace Out Father Christmas.  We’ll miss you.

*By the way, I noticed the other day that somebody came across my blog by searching “Father Christmas Atlanta Botanical Gardens”. That’s actually a big reason reason for this post.  I can only assume that they were trying to find the same information that I was.  If  they happen to come across this post, I hope it helps.

4 thoughts on “Bummed About St. Nick

  1. Hello!

    I am in tears!

    Have you learned anything?

    I just called, frantically, and left a message. Today, I got my email that did not include Fr. Christmas.

    Where could he be? What happened? I want someone to call me and tell me why he will not be there.

    Budget cuts, I am assuming? You know, I would rather pay extra to see him, than not see him at all. If money was the reason for not bringing him back — I don’t want to hear that! Is he a casualty of the deck?

    I don’t know what I’ll do. I am NOT going to the mall. No way. I do not even want to see a red Santa. I have been spoiled!

    The only suggestion I have is the one who visits Hastings on Peachtree every year. The only reason we haven’t used him, is we go to the ABG.

    I am rethinking my membership. Please let me know if you hear anything about what happened to him, or where to go. We are sharing your pain!

  2. I too came across your blog in a similar manner. My husband had heard that St. Nick wouldn’t be at the Gardens this year and was devasted to have it confirmed.

    Now we are on the search for another suitable alternative. We had done the Gardens photos for the past 3 years and I’m at a loss. I’m very surprised as it seemed to draw a lot of people to the Gardens during otherwise low-visit days.

    Thanks for posting. Perhaps if we were to inundate them with notes they would rethink their decision.

  3. Just ran across your blog and wanted to let you know that I am at the botanical gardens again this year. I will be there on Friday, Saturday and Sunday after Thanksgiving. I am sure your blog and the request by others is why St. Nick has returned. I always enjoy the gardens in that I get time to work with the children, even those that are unsure about the strange man in a green suit with a wreath on his head.

    Santa Bruce

Leave a Reply

