Geek Rock

I am not a Geek.  Seriously.  I’m not. 

Sometimes I wish I was.  They’re the ones that know how to get the good pirated movies and computer stuff for free. 

I’ve tried to understand Dungeons & Dragons…a lot.  I still don’t get it.  I’ve tried to see the appeal of a Renaissance Festival.  Beyond the giant turkey legs (which actually do sound pretty cool), I just can’t do it.  I’ve tried so hard to enjoy anything written by J.R.R Tolkien.  Nope…I didn’t even like the movies. 

That all being said, some of my favorite people and some of the most important people in my life are complete geeks…and proud of it.  So, in celebration of somebody who may or may not have grown up across the meadow from near me and  all of the a few people I knew in college, I give you this:

CNN.com has a great list of the Top Ten Geek Anthems of All Time.  No matter who you are, this list will most definitely make you smile.  So go look at the list, listen to the song samples, look for the video on YouTube  & dance around the room (’cause your friends don’t dance and if they don’t dance, they’re no friends of mine….).  

Go ahead, celebrate your past/current/inner/outer/cape-wearing geekdom.  You’re the ones who are ruling the world (….and fixing my computer).  Own it!

And while you’re at it, enjoy my addition.  I know that They Might Be Giants is already on the list, but it doesn’t get better than this….

Live Long and Prosper   (see, it doesn’t even look right when I type it…)

*******************

Does anybody else think that this post makes me sound like the blonde girl on The Big Bang Theory?  Just me?  Okay.

Leave a Reply

