Back to My Roots

Someday I’ll write about my love of Facebook.  Right now, just know that it’s brought a lot of people back into my life…and I’m glad.

I was at Amelia’s Kindergarten Open House this morning and a little girl with slightly messy hair walked in wearing a flowered dress over flowered pants, a leopard print jacket & sparkly shoes.  All I could think was “Wow, she’s Amelia’s soul-mate.”  I started thinking about how the kids in Amelia’s Kindergarten class could be her life-long best friends.  Then I got a little sad because, if it weren’t for Facebook, I wouldn’t be in touch with ONE of my Kindergarten classmates.  Is that unusual?  I’m not sure.  I do know that it would make a lot more sense if my family had moved away at some point. 

I never moved, but I DID change schools in seventh grade.  It was the right choice, a much bigger school with more resources and more opportunity, but I lost touch with all of the people I’d known in elementary school.  They were the people I’d taken swimming lessons with, spent summer programs with, played softball with.  Why did we lose touch?  Who knows.  Maybe because I was the girl who thought she was too cool because she went to a bigger school.  Maybe we just didn’t know the same people anymore and had nothing to talk about.  Maybe being 12 is just a really awkward time.  Whatever the reason, it’s sad to think about it now.  Add to that going away to college and then moving to Atlanta and there was really never any hope.  Our paths had split.

Fortunately, we DO have things like Facebook so I can have some semblance of a reconnection with the people I used to know.  In a lot of cases, it’s just an accepted friend request.  But every so often I venture to comment on a photo or write on someone’s wall.  If nothing else, we know that the other person is there IF we want to get reacquainted.

So, believe it or not, this is what I was thinking about today when I got an instant message from a guy I knew when I was young.  Pat is the oldest brother of my friend Erica, who was one of my BFFs in late elementary school and early middle school.  I haven’t talked to her in years and years and I’d friended Pat a while back thinking that I could ask him for her contact info (which I never got around to doing).  I’d left a comment on his wall over the weekend and so he’d replied and messaged to say Hi.  We started chit-chatting and I randomly made a comment about the computer lab at Amelia’s future school and how I remember being in Kindergarten and the school having ONE computer that they wheeled around from class to class.  His response was “Yeah, I remember that.”  Well, of course he did…he was THERE…and he was older, so he remembered it even better.  I realized that this was the first time in a long time that I’d referenced something from my early years (to somebody other than my family) and the person I was talking to knew EXACTLY what I was talking about.  My friends from work or college or high school would probably have comparable experiences….but they don’t know exactly what I’m talking about.  They weren’t there.  Even my husband doesn’t have that exact point of reference.  It was a strange realization and it snuck up on me a bit.  Our conversation went on and there were a couple more references dropped….names I hadn’t thought about in years.  It was comforting, like walking into your old school and having it smell exactly the same.  I’m sure that Pat has no idea what a big deal it was to me, but I spent the rest of the day feeling like I’d been given a shot of home.  

It made me excited for Amelia to go to school and make life-long friends.  It made me excited to re-connect with my long-long swimming lessons friends.

And now I have to go e-mail Erica (because I finally got her e-mail address)……

One thought on “Back to My Roots

  1. Thanks Jess, great post! Its so true how nostalgia is really personal, and usually a moment in time long gone. And facebook simultaneously connects and destroys, in this case connects so…Bonus!!!

Leave a Reply

